Guide to end of year must watch music awards in Korea 2019

As we conclude 2019, the year end awards season is fast approaching in Korea! Filled up with all kinds of ceremonies and awards, you can feel the festivities in December and January. This is also an important period for all K-pop stars to see if their efforts for the year would get recognized and for the fans to rally the votes in support.

If you are a K-pop fan, you should not miss out on this! Here we bring you the list of 2019 year-end & 2020 upcoming K-pop music awards and events in Korea! For those who want to attend, read on and find the details. Some of the dates of these events are tentative and are subject to change without notice.

The 34th Golden Disc Awards 2020

The Golden Disc Awards is an annual South Korean music awards ceremony that honors achievements and accomplishments in the local music industry, including Album of the Year, Digital Song of the Year, Album Main Prize, Digital Song Main Prize, Popularity Award, Achievement Award and more. The line-up of 2020 Golden Disc Awards is fantastic: Twice, MAMAMOO, Paul Kim, Jannabi and more are going to bring out fantastic performances for audiences on the first day, while BTS, Twice. Seventeen and more will perform on the second day.

Date: Jan 4 – Jan 5, 2020
Time: 5:00pm
Location: Gocheok Sky Dome
Jan 4: Twice, MAMAMOO, Paul Kim, Jannabi and more.
Jan 5: BTS, Twice. Seventeen and more.
Tickets: Available HERE at

Gaon Chart Music Awards 2019

Gaon Chart Music Awards Year End Awards 2019

Gaon Chart K-pop Music Awards is a major music awards show held annually in South Korea by the national music record chart Gaon Chart. It ranks the most popular songs, albums, and artists of the previous year. At the 9th Gaon Chart K-pop Music Awards, Leeteuk of Super Junior and Lia of ITZY are going to host the ceremony. It’s going to be an incredible night with epic performances brought by excellent line-up, including TaeYeon, BOL4, NCT DREAM, N.Flying, (G)I-DLE, ITZY, MONSTA X, CHUNG HA, Ben, Hwa Sa, Jang Hye Jin, Kassy, and more. 

Date: January 8, 2020 (Wed)
Time: 7.00 pm
Location: Jamsil Indoor Stadium
Hosts: Leeteuk of Super Junior and Lia of ITZY
Line-up: TaeYeon, BOL4, NCT DREAM, N.Flying, (G)I-DLE, ITZY, MONSTA X, CHUNG HA, Ben, Hwa Sa, Jang Hye Jin, Kassy, and more
Tickets: Available HERE at

The 29th High1 Seoul Music Awards 2020

High1 Seoul Music Awards 2019 Year End awards

High1 Seoul Music Awards is one of the most prestigious awards in Korea, founded in 1990. It’s presented annually by Sports Seoul. The presentation ceremony features special stages of prominent artists and recognize great achievements in Korea music industry

Date: January 30th, 2020
Time: 6:50 pm
Location: Gocheok Sky Dome
Hosts: To be announced
Line-up: To be announced
Tickets: Available HERE at

2019 SBS Gayo Daejeon (SBS Music Awards) 

SBS Gayo Daejeon is an annual televised music festival that is broadcasted by the Seoul Broadcasting System. SBS Entertainment Awards, SBS Drama Awards, SBS Music Awards comprise of the SBS Awards Festival which celebrates all the accomplishments in the TV programs hosted by the Seoul Broadcasting System (SBS) throughout the year. SBS Gayo Daejeon features the best artists of the year in the K-pop industry.

Date: December 25, 2019 (Wed)
Time: To be announced
Location: Gocheok Sky Dome (Near Guil Station Subway Line 1)
Hosts: Jun Hyunmoo, Seolhyun of AOA
Line-up: BTS, TWICE, Red Velvet, GOT7, MAMAMOO, Seventeen, A Pink, AOA, MONSTA X, GFriend, NU’EST, ASTRO, Stray Kids, Chungha, Oh My Girl, NCT Dream, ITZY, N.Flying, NCT 127, TXT and more
Tickets: Available HERE at

2019 KBS Gayo Daechukje (KBS Song Festival)

The KBS Song Festival, also known as “Gayo Daechukje”, is another major year-end K-pop event held every last Friday of December by the Korean Broadcasting System (KBS). It was called KBS Music Awards before, but has been changed into a festival, and was turned into a non-competitive music festival rather than an awards show. There will be lots of memorable performances brought by the K-pop icons.

Date: December 27, 2019 (Fri)
Time: 7:50 PM ~
Location: KINTEX
Hosts: Irene of Red Velvet and Jin Young of GOT7
Line-up: ITZY, Red Velvet, MONSTA X, BTS, GOT7, Seventeen, TWICE, NU’EST

2019 MBC Gayo Daejejeon

MBC GAyo Daejejeon 2019 Year end music awards

MBC Gayo Daejejeon is one of the best annual year-end music shows held on Dec 31 by the Munhwa Broadcasting Corporation (MBC). It always features a star-studded line-up! It was first aired in 1966 as a competition show, but the organizer stopped to give out awards in 2005.

Date: December 31st, 2019 (Tue)
Time: To be announced
Location: Ilsan MBC Dream Center
Hosts: Yoona and Cha Eun Woo
Line-up: To be announced

Stay tuned for more info on our updates on the K-pop award ceremonies!

Photo Credits
2019 Asia Artist Awards Official Facebook
Gaon Music Awards Official Website
MBC Official Blog
Zennith News

KAvenyou: Singapore to Korea – Music, Wanderlust, Foodie, Lifestyle.

Interact with like-minded friends on our social media accounts:
Instagram: @KAvenyou
Twitter: @KAvenyou
Facebook: @KAvenyou
YouTube: @KAvenyou
Telegram: KAvenyou

For collaboration and advertising enquiries, do contact us at

First to the deets? Share it to prove it...
You could have missed these out...